About Me

Scroll to learn more

I'm Aaron Krauss, and I’m a full stack developer based out of OKC, Oklahoma. I was born in Germany in 1990, grew up in a German culture for 6 years, and still speak moderately fluent German. I currently work at Clevyr as a senior software engineer, and engage in miscellaneous development on my own time. I'm a fan of Ruby, Python, JavaScript, C#, SQL - and honestly, just about anything.

Background

My love of coding started when I was 14 in my first high school programming class, and I’ve become a major polyglot programmer since then. Starting with Visual Basic (anyone remember that?) and Java, I then went on to self-learn C, C++, HTML, CSS, C#, Javascript, SQL, NoSQL DBs, Ruby, Python, PHP, Shell, Git, Io, Prolog... the list goes on and on.

I have well over a decade of professional coding experience, and I've gotten to work on some pretty cool projects during that time, such as big data, detailed analytics, oil and gas, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, games, collaboration apps, and plenty more. You name it, I likely have some sort of experience with it.

I typically play the role of a back-end developer, working with multiple programming paradigms in software, web, and mobile development. I prefer to program in a Unix-based environment, utilizing the terminal heavily for everything. My main skills here are Ruby/Rails, PHP/Laravel, Python, C#, SQL, NoSQL, APIs, Node.js, Git, Shell, Vim, and Tmux.

That said, I don't work only on the back-end; I'm incredibly comfortable with HTML5, CSS/Sass, and all the major JavaScript front-end frameworks (Vue, React, Angular, jQuery, and even Ember). I've also built plenty of projects using CMSs like Wordpress, Craft, Umbraco, and ModX. For styling, I use Bootstrap when it makes sense, but I really prefer to build completely custom styles. Check out my projects to see what I’ve worked on!

My Interests

I love tea, and that's putting it lightly. I've been a tea enthusiast for over a decade now. My favorites are Japanese greens and Chinese oolongs, but I like to brew anything as long as it's good quality and has some history behind it.

I love my dogs. We've got a dutch shepherd and a samoyed, and they're a big part of what makes our house a home. No matter how old they get, they always play like puppies together.

I love longboarding. I got into it in college as a quick way to get between classes, and I just fell in love with it. I don't do any fancy tricks; I just enjoy cruising, carving down hills, and getting rid of any stress from the day. It's a fun way to walk my dogs too!

I love craft beer and making cocktails. If you've seen My History with Beer, then you know beer is a part of my heritage. I was born in Germany, after all! After I turned 21, craft beer rocketed into a full-blown passion. As far as cocktails go, I have a full at-home cocktail setup to craft whatever you can dream. It may take me 10 minutes to make a drink, but you can bet it'll be made right!

I love Layla. We've been together since 2006! She's my partner in crime when it comes to traveling the globe, playing tennis, bingewatching TV series, and pretty much everything in between. She's the sweetest, most thoughtful and honest person I know. I can't imagine a life without her. I love her, and she’s an incredibly talented dietitian too!

Fin

That's it!